Possession Of A Controlled Substance in Oregon
Have you been arrested for possession of an illegal drug in the state of Oregon? It’s time to understand what your rights and options are, and the extent of your situation. You aren’t alone at this time. Siefman Law LLC is just a phone call away, and our Portland drug defense attorneys are here to help you and answer your questions.
The initial thoughts running through your head might be:
- What can I do to protect my future?
- What are my options?
- Who can I call?
- Do I need an attorney?
- How soon should I call a Portland criminal defense lawyer?
Our firm has a proven track record of success both in and out of court and the experience necessary to defend your rights if you have been arrested on possession charges in Portland. Keep reading to learn more about possession charges and penalties in the state. We are here to discuss your situation with you as soon as you give our office a call.
Drug Schedule & Possession
Oregon classifies illicit substances by schedule, in descending order of perceived danger / potential for abuse and dependency:
- Schedule I drugs include LSD, heroin, peyote, and marijuana
- Schedule II drugs include cocaine, methamphetamines, and opium
- Schedule III drugs include hydrocodone, anabolic steroids, and ketamine
- Schedule IV drugs include some tranquilizers and sedatives
- Schedule V drugs include certain prescription drugs
Felony possession is possession of a Schedule I — excluding marijuana — or Schedule II drug, which constitutes a Class B felony and Class C felony charge, respectively. The penalty can be up to 10 years in prison or 5 for a Schedule II drug, and up to $100,000 in fines. Speaking with an attorney as soon as possible is imperative. Contact us to learn more.